Togo: From under the African Sun to above the European Snow

I was afraid I would once again have problems finding a book, because somehow I felt like Togo would not be a country with many authors. However, I found two books I immediately felt drawn to. Because I did not have access to my physical library at the time, it was an easy choice between the two books, because The Internet Archive had An African in Greenland by Tété-Michel Kpomassie.

I have to say this is one of the strangest true stories I have ever read. I mean it in the best possible way! Can you imagine a young boy in Togo reading about Greenland, and him being determinate to go here one day, and that is exactly what he does! The incredible part is that he did this in the 1960s. It took him years to work his way through Africa and mainland Europe, but he did it!

It was most definitely an interesting read, no doubt about it. I learned a lot about both Togo and Greenland. It was fun reading about a time before the Internet and all our devices, and yet he managed to do so many things that I feel really proud of him.

It was great to see that so many Greenlanders opened up their doors to a dark stranger from far away Africa. I am pretty sure not many Africans had visited this big island before him. It was great to read about a man from Africa explaining trees to Europeans.

I enjoyed the book, and it was great to read about both Togo and Greenland in one book. I wonder how crazy people thought he was when he actually took off to go to Greenland. The places he went to and the people he met during his trip were somehow so fantastic that you really can’t come up with these things. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

Leave a comment